My Experiences in BUS 358: Innovation, Design, and Prototyping

Project #6
Vinyl cut something.

Purpose
The purpose of this project assignment was to design and cut something using the vinyl cutter.

[Design Process Steps]
DISCOVERY: I needed to vinyl cut something, and I had wanted a sticker for my laptop for a long time. I had just gotten to the point where I could “tarnish” things (i.e. – car, water bottle) that I owned by applying stickers (I’ve always had a hard time doing this due to some other issues) and figured it was time for my laptop to become similarly “tarnished.”
INTERPRETATION: I needed to vinyl cut something, and hopefully it could be something that I (or someone close to me) could benefit from and use.
IDEATION: I decided that I would either cut a Superman, Batman, or Stitch cut-out for my laptop in a bright color (since I have a dark laptop) or cut a Navy emblem in dark blue for my mom (she’s wanted one for a while for my dad’s shadowbox).
EXPERIMENTATION: I decided that I wanted a Stitch sticker (in lime green) for my laptop cover. I had just gotten a new laptop and I really wanted to personalize it beyond what I could possibly find in a store. I went online and found a Stitch image on Google that I liked. I uploaded it into InkScape, set the “detail” and determined how thick of a cut I wanted on each part of the image. I decided that once it printed, I would take out the teeth, center of ears, and chest fur tuf and have those be “empty space” once applied. I thought that I had it all figured out – but I encountered problem after problem with the vinyl cutter (pressure of cutter, loading of vinyl, etc.). It took me roughly 2 whole nights in the lab to correctly print the Stitch sticker, take out the extra pieces with an Expo knife, and finally apply it to my laptop.
EVOLUTION: There is nothing that I would change about my Stitch sticker. I love it. I would possibly like to go back and add a “thought bubble” with a quote from the film Lilo & Stitch, but I have not yet decided on which quote or if I even really want to add to it – I really do love it just the way it is. It came out perfect to me, and I really just love it.

Pictures of Project 6 – Stitch:
17

Leave a Reply

Me & 3D: Creations and Fun

My Experiences in BUS 358: Innovation, Design, and Prototyping

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

